No banner in farm
V8Central Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | Links | Private Messages
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 International Series
 Milwaukee IndyFest *spoilers*
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Share
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Team Manager

6165 Posts
joined 15 Feb 11


Posted - 17 Jun 2012 :  07:58:47  Show Profile Send HDT05 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Milwaukee IndyFest

WEST ALLIS, Wis. -- Dario Franchitti was 18th on the IZOD IndyCar Series practice time sheet that preceeded qualifications for the Milwaukee IndyFest Presented by XYQ. He must have found something in the hour break.

Franchitti will start from the pole for the second consecutive year at the Milwaukee Mile after recording a two-lap average speed of 168.737 mph (43.3100 seconds) in the No. 10 Cottonelle car for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. He tied Al Unser for seventh on the all-time list with 27 poles.

Click it: Milwaukee IndyFest Presented by XYQ qualifying results

Franchitti, who posted the quickest lap of the session at 169.156 mph, could make a significant advancement in the championship standings with his second consecutive victory at the historic track as seven drivers will incur 10-grid spot penalties for unapproved engine changes -- including front-runner Will Power and teammate Scott Dixon. Franchitti will enter the 225-lap race 63 points behind Power.

"I am very pleased as much as I am surprised," said Franchitti, who was 11th on the time chart in the morning practice session. "That’s quite a turnaround from practice. Practice is one thing, qualifying is another and then there is the race. For as warm as it it people are fighting the car and everyone wants the same line. I expect (the race) is going to be tough, especially at the end of a full stint on those Firestone tires.

"It’s going to be a long, exciting day and hopefully the Cottonelle car will be up front at the end of the afternoon. This is always an interesting track and we’ll see if we can get it done."

Among the others receiving the grid penalty is Justin Wilson, who followed his first oval victory June 9 at Texas Motor Speedway with a front-row qualifying effort in the No. 18 Sonny's BBQ car for Dale Coyne Racing. His spot will be taken by Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No. 28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda car for Andretti Autosport (167.911 mph). 

"The guys did a great job on the car. We were all over the sixth-gear limiter on our last lap or I think we would have been quick enough for pole," said Hunter-Reay, whose previous best oval start was the pole at Milwaukee for the 2004 CART race. "We couldn't have predicted we would be that quick though; it's the quickest we've been all weekend. It's tough for the crew, especially the engineers, trying to pick which gears to go with. It's like shooting with a blindfold on sometimes."

Power qualified fourth in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, but will relinquish that position to Rubens Barrichello, who is making his debut at Milwaukee in No. 8 BMC/Embrase/KV Racing Technology car. He'll be joined on Row 2 by Helio Castroneves (166.763) in the No. 3 Penske Truck Rental car.

KV Racing Technology teammates E.J. Viso and Tony Kanaan will share Row 3.

Also receiving grid penalties will be rookie Josef Newgarden (who tied his best qualifying effort at seventh), Takuma Sato, Ryan Briscoe and Mike Conway.

"Knowing that we had the penalty coming here wasn’t too bad because it’s been a cycle this year," said Newgarden, driving the No. 67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing car. "Everyone’s had to go through it at some point and it’s just our turn. That’s the whole thing with engine manufacturer competition coming back to the series. I think it’s great that we have that competition because that’s what racing is really about. We want to see them duking it out with each other, and I’m really proud to be backed by Honda power."


Unofficial Results - Milwaukee IndyFest

Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver Laps Running / Reason Out
1 Ryan Hunter-Reay 225 Running
2 Tony Kanaan 225 Running
3 James Hinchcliffe 225 Running
4 Oriol Servia 225 Running
5 EJ Viso 225 Running
6 Helio Castroneves 225 Running
7 Alex Tagliani 225 Running
8 Ed Carpenter 225 Running
9 Graham Rahal 225 Running
10 Rubens Barrichello 225 Running
11 Scott Dixon 225 Running
12 Will Power 225 Running
13 Simon Pagenaud 224 Running
14 Ryan Briscoe 224 Running
15 Marco Andretti 224 Running
16 Mike Conway 224 Running
17 Charlie Kimball 224 Running
18 Katherine Legge 220 Running
19 Dario Franchitti 193 Contact
20 Takuma Sato 107 Contact
21 James Jakes 106 Contact
22 JR Hildebrand 105 Mechanical
23 Justin Wilson 93 Mechanical
24 Simona de Silvestro 62 Contact
25 Josef Newgarden 48 Mechanical

Peter Brock 1945 - 2006 RIP #05
RIP Dale Earnhardt 1951 - 2001 #3
RIP Dan Wheldon 1978 - 2011
RIP Jason Richards 1976 - 2011

Team Manager

10697 Posts
joined 19 Jun 11


Posted - 17 Jun 2012 :  19:33:47  Show Profile Send DJRford a Private Message  Reply with Quote Copy this URL to Link to this Reply
Not too great a result for Power, but at least he's still got the championship lead.


"This whole thing is just a media beat up and you V8 Supercar fans( another name for suckers, bogans, lowlifes etc ) have taken the bait hook line and sinker." - Champcarman
Go to Top of Page

Fast by Ferracci
Team Manager

10443 Posts
joined 23 Sep 04


Posted - 17 Jun 2012 :  21:36:03  Show Profile Send Fast by Ferracci a Private Message  Reply with Quote Copy this URL to Link to this Reply
An excellent race from Milwaukee, cars could use a few different grooves and it showed for the second week in a row that Indycars do their best thing on the ovals.

Best of all Milwaukee was confirmed for next year, not to the scrapheap as predicted.
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly Share
Jump To:
V8Central Forums © 2001 - 2020 V8Central Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.45 seconds.